Whole 30 – Round 2

Yesterday started my second round of the Whole 30 program!  I am so excited to begin this again . After my first round I felt such an amazing difference, and even though I stuck to that style of eating for the most part even after the program, Christmas really derailed me.

My original intention was to start another round of Whole 30 in January, but pushed up that time line after I spent a week drinking red wine, eating cookies, and well , drinking more red wine.

I enjoyed every second, but its time to get back in the game.

whole-30-cheat-sheet

This time around I am changing only one thing.  My morning snack will be homemade almond milk and a scoop of vegan chocolate Shakeology.

Strictly speaking, powders such as Shakeology are not permitted on Whole 30.  This is because when you drink your food the hormone leptin does not respond in the same way, and you may not know when you are full.  However, this was one of the biggest aspects I learned during my first round of Whole 30, so I am confident that adding Shakeology as a snack with homemade almond milk will not disrupt my leptin response.

Also, I firmly believe that Shakeology is an amazing product.  This is not simply a protein powder, and is more of a protein and vitamin supplement with amazing pro and pre biotics.  I never felt Shakeology was an appropriate meal replacement as it is marketed, however, as a snack is it perfect for me.

Here is my plan for the week:

whole30plan

I find the best success when I plan a set breakfast, lunch, and snacks for the week and then mix up the dinners.  I will also do a separate post later this week on how to make homemade almond milk!  Spoiler: ITS RIDICULOUSLY EASY!

Here is the plan for dinners, along with links to recipes below:

whole30plan2

Beef Stew from One Lovely Life

Italian Chicken from Stupid Easy Paleo

I also roast broccoli and red potatoes with olive oil and garlic.

Cauliflower Soup from Simone’s Kitchen

(I skip the bacon because I have yet to find bacon without any added sugar)

For the Roasted Salmon and Brussel Sprouts I simply buy shredded sprouts and add them to a casserole dish along with olive oil and top it with a 6oz salmon filet.  Roast at 375* for 25-30 minutes and you have an easy and healthy dinner!

So there you have it!  The whole first week of Whole 30, planned, prepped, and ready to go!  Please email me with any questions , especially if you are starting your own Whole 30 journey!

 

 

 

One thought on “Whole 30 – Round 2

Leave a comment