One Month- So much fun!

Somehow on March 22nd my baby turned 1 month old.  I cannot believe a whole month has passed, but at the same time I cannot believe only a month has passed.  When I look back on pictures from the hospital I cannot believe how different she looks.  Ella amazes me in how much she changes and learns each and every day.  I love knowing that her brand new eyes are seeing everything in the world for the first time.  I wish I remembered what that was like, seeing the color pink for the first time, seeing the sun shining through the living room window.  It must be amazing and over whelming all at the same time.

In the last two weeks I feel like my child has turned from a newborn into an actual baby.  We have fallen into a pretty awesome routine.  She wakes up between 7 and 8 in the morning, and is awake for a few hours after that.  After spending most of the morning awake, she takes a long afternoon nap most days.  When Daddy gets home from work at 5:30 PM, she enjoys some alone time in her swing while we make and eat dinner.  Ella tends to get fussy around 7PM every night, but the past few nights she has fallen into a deep sleep at 7:30 or 8 PM and stays asleep all night waking up for feedings every 4-5 hours (throughout the day she eats every 2-3 hours).  On her one month birthday she even slept for a 6 hour stretch!

Lately Ella has taken lots of naps on Mommy’s chest…photo

Practiced baby wearing.  I even made banana bread one day while wearing her!

photo copy

Learned how to eat from a bottle.

photo (1)

Became an awesome sleeper

photo (4)

Cheered on Mommy and Daddy’s alma mater in the NCAA tournament!  Unfortunately Bucknell lost to Butler

photo (3)

Spent lots of time bonding with Daddy while Mommy was at yoga teacher training one weekend

photo (2)

And somehow turned one month old!

photo (5)

At her one month doctors appointment she was 22 1/4 inches long (96th percentile) and 9 lbs 10 ounces (60th percentile).  She is gaining ounces like its her job (because it is).  We have not experienced a true “growth spurt” in the traditional sense, but I am so happy she is growing and is so healthy.

I am feeling much more confident in my new role as mommy.  Motherhood is so much better than I expected at this point, and it is SCARY how much I love Ella . I feel like I have fallen very nicely into my maternal life, and I am really trying to enjoy every moment of my maternity leave. Every day is a new adventure and I feel so lucky to be this little girls mom 🙂

Leave a comment